I accidentally got into Tech

I accidentally got into Tech

My unintentional journey into Tech.

So, picture this: I was just this girl with a business wanting to reach more people online but I had no clue how to make it happen. Fast forward four years later, and here I am, rocking the world as a badass backend developer!

To be very honest, it wasn't an easy ride. Selling my products online was a struggle. I had to learn the art of social media marketing, all by myself, because I could not afford to pay graphic designers or video editors, so I became a multitasking wizard, learning all the things, I learned to design, create videos, edit videos, voice-over and even went as far as learning SEO.

One day I stumbled on Figma and I was like “Omg, this tool looks better for design” At that time I had no idea what It means to be a product designer, I just wanted to design for my business, so I just found my way around the software and I would create designs.

One day, this girl caught me designing on Figma and casually dropped, "Hey, you're a UI/UX designer?" I was like, "Huh? What's that?" Curiosity got the best of me, so I dove headfirst into researching and I found a free training by Ingressive for Good. The joy I felt that day ehn, I enrolled and sent it to some of my friends.

After the training, I had no intention to build a career, so I had no idea whatsoever that I would need to have a portfolio. Boy, was I clueless! But then, I stumbled upon job opportunities on Twitter. I thought, "Why not give it a shot? I have the knowledge abi? So let’s get this" First thing he sent was “Send your portfolio” I went straight to Google.

Oh, the research I did after that! even the word research felt my impact. I discovered that it's all about tech, guyyyyy, I used to think tech was all about coding, but boy, was I wrong and so clueless, I didn’t know where to start, so I watched loads of youtube videos and I got serious about building a killer portfolio (well at the time I thought my portfolio was a killer) and calling myself a UI/UX designer. Then, out of the blue, someone mentioned they could code my designs as a front-end developer.

I was LOST.

And that's when I went, "Hold up, sir! What did you say?" I dived deep into tech careers and what they entailed. Self-learning became my jam, fueled by pure curiosity. I wanted to know the HOW, not for my business or career, but for the sheer joy of it! I decided to enroll in a full-stack development course with Ingressive4Good and Zuri, focusing on Python. Let me tell you, it was a blast! Writing codes became my happy place, and that's when my incredible journey truly began.

So, I had struggles starting in tech and I am dedicated to helping newbies navigate their way in tech. So buckle up, my friend, because this girl is on a roll, come on this journey with me.